Once Again, Golfer Shows Us The Way

From BBC.com:

BBC – Iain Carter: Davis and Davies inspire despite near misses: The sudden death shoot-out effectively ended when the Englishman alerted a rules official to the possibility that he may be liable to a two-stroke penalty for moving a loose impediment in a hazard on the backswing of his third shot on the first extra hole.

Brian Davis essentially handed the tournament to Jim Furyk by calling a penalty on himself for an infraction that nobody else saw. Can you imagine that in the NBA, NFL, or NHL? I think not. His response when asked about it?

It’s one of those things, it’s what you do, it’s what makes our sport so special… But I couldn’t live with myself if you don’t call it on yourself

Wouldn’t all sports be better if the professionals behaved like professionals instead of punks?

Advertisements